PV Narasimha Rao’s daughter defeats BJP, wins Telangana MLC poll


S Vani Devi, the daughter of former Prime Minister P V Narasimha Rao, was elected to the Telangana Legislative Council from the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad Graduates’ region on Saturday.

Vani Devi defeated N Ramachander Rao, a sitting MLC from the BJP. Official sources said she obtained her certificate of election from the Returning Officer on Saturday night.


On March 14, Mahabubnagar-Ranagreddy-Hyderabad and Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda Graduates’ constituencies held council elections. As the lengthy process of counting votes proceeded in the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda seat, TRS nominee and sitting MLC Palla Rajeshwar Reddy maintained his lead.

The Telangana poll used jumbo-sized ballot papers because of the large number of candidates and because the electorate exercised their franchise in a preferential manner. Counting of votes began on Wednesday and lasted until Saturday. The two constituencies have a combined population of over 10 lakh voters. 

More About Telangana Elections:

If we look into the while 71 nominees contested from the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency, there were 71 nominees contesting from the region and the results are highly awaited by the people of Telangana. People are saying that these elections might chage the whole story of the state if the representatives work efficiently.


PV Narasimha Rao's daughter defeats BJP rival, wins Telangana MLC poll on  TRS ticket

Voters in India as always, avoid to care about the poll. They think that one vote cannot change anything and due to various reasons, they do not vote and consider the voting day as a family holiday. Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad seat witnessed only 67.26 per cent of polling. On the other hand, if we look into the stats of voter count at Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency in Telangana, it is 76.41 per cent which is more than the previously mentioned region but still needs improvement. 

The TRS decided to make a concerted bid to win the two seats after suffering setbacks in the Dubbak assembly constituency bypoll and Hyderabad civic polls late in past year, while the BJP tried to build on its excellent accomplishment in the Hyderabad civic polls.

G Chinna Reddy of the Congress, TDP’s Telangana unit president L Ramana, and former MLC K Nageshwar, a journalism professor and renowned commentator, were all in the race for the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad seat.

Parth Dubey
I am Parth Dubey, currently an undergraduate. I have been working as a content writer for the past 6 months and have worked in various fields with many people and firms. I firmly believe that writing is not just about money making or attracting people, it's more about knowledge and information, along with feelings.

Must Read

Woman arrested by Ludhiana rural police for husband’s murder

Ludhiana rural police arrested a woman for murdering her husband after a fight between the couple on Saturday night. The accused, Gurmeet Kaur of...

Using Digital Marketing To Bolster Success Anand Singh

NJ Traffic Ticket Payment Guide for Vehicle Owners