Dr. Tammy Warren will be serving her second term as Sargasso Sea Commissioner./*Photo supplied. Dr. Tammy Warren will be serving her second term as Sargasso Sea Commissioner./*Photo supplied.

This week the Bermuda Cabinet approved the appointment of three international experts to the Sargasso Sea Commission.

The three incoming Commissioners are Dr. Tammy Warren, the Senior Marine Resources Officer for the Bermuda Government Department of Environment and Natural Resources (serving a second term); The Honourable Wilfred P. Moore, Q.C., LL.D. former Canadian Senator; and  Mr. Frederico Cardigos of the Regional Directorate for Sea Affairs for the Government of the Azores. They will each serve a three-year term in their personal capacity.

The Sargasso Sea Commission was established by the Hamilton Declaration on Collaboration for the Conservation of the Sargasso Sea which was signed in Bermuda on March 11, 2014. 

The Minister of Home Affairs the Hon. Walton Brown JP, MP said, “My Ministry is pleased to be leading the work of the Government of Bermuda in support of the Sargasso Sea Commission, which has already established itself as a unique and important player in its work for the conservation of the Sargasso Sea."

Executive Secretary of the Sargasso Sea Commission Dr. David Freestone warmly welcomed the appointments.

Dr. Freestone said, “These appointments further strengthen the team of individuals within the Commission and we are delighted to have the continued support of Bermuda, Canada and the Azores.”

The Commission's formal role is to act as the steward of this iconic high seas ecosystem and to keep its health, productivity and resilience under review, as well as to develop safeguard measures for its conservation.

The Declaration requires that the Commissioners themselves be “distinguished scientists and other persons of international repute committed to the conservation of high seas ecosystems that would serve in their personal capacity.” 

The new Commissioners will work alongside current Commissioners Dr. Billy Causey, Professor Stephen de Mora, Professor Howard Roe, and Mr. Mark Spalding. 

As of January 2017, the nine Signatory Governments to the Hamilton Declaration are the Azores,  the Bahamas, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands,  Canada, the Cayman Islands, the Principality of Monaco,  the United Kingdom and the United States.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.

back to top